top of page

5 amazing bars to get cocktails in Dublin


Yes Dublin is known for beers and whisky but did you know how good Irish are with cocktails? No, well follow me I'm going to show you the best places to get blow-minder cocktails!

1. Sophie's

Cocktails with a view

I love this place so very much! Not only it has one of the best view (mostly for sunsets) of Dublin but it also does crazy good cocktails!

The decor is half way between an american dinner and a fancy 20s bar. It's on the 5th floor of the hotel The Dean on Harcourt street. You have a terrasse with...sun lounger (yes). There are swings outside the elevators (and it's the cutest and comfiest touch to wait for an elevator).

The menu is changing, I don't know to what frequency but since I arrived in Dublin in June it changed and in that new menu my favorite is...(drum roll)...the Room 212.

Here are a few photos to give you a better idea.

Prices: 10 to 12€

Food? Yes and it's good but a bit overpriced but hey the view has a price!

2. Perruke & Perriwig

Boudoir atmosphere with cocktails' experts

It's an hidden gem in Dublin. You jump in time when you go to the second floor of that discrete bar on Dawson Street. You arrive in a red salon which looks directly out from an old movie. It's hard to describe but it's unique and a real experience. The guys in there know their business and they can tell you what cocktails you would like and they're right ;) at least they did for me!

The menu is extra long which can be a little complicated to choose but they have crazy options like key lime pie (a dream came true).

(Pictures are not mine, sorry! It's always too dark when I go to get good ones but I found this one online and they give you a good idea of the place)

Prices: 11 to 13€

Food? Yes but I never tried it yet, the cocktails being already very expensive I bet the food is too. If you ate there already, please share with us your experience :)

3. Pygmalion

Where crazy parties come to live

I can not not put Pygmalion on the list as so many of us here in Dublin love the place. Annexed to The Powerscourt, right in the heart of the city, Pygmalion is the good choice if you want to enjoy good & cheap cocktails. They have special offers almost all week long where you can get 2 cocktails for 1 which makes your cocktail at 6€ and they are good! They also have a terrasse to sit outside and you can be sure to have a good atmosphere out there for a good night out!

Prices: 12€ for 2 cokctails

Food? Don't know to be honest, it's more a drinking place than anything else.

4. Farrier & Draper

Classy drink in an amazing decor

They do good cocktails but their big plus is the decor and the location. It's an amazing place annexed to Powerscourt also. They have a blowing mind bar and I got their basil and strawberry cocktail and it was fab!

Prices: don't remember exactly but around 11€ I think

Food? Yes, italian. Never tried but it smelled truly good last time and I saw some of the plates and it looked good. If I try it, I'll let you know here ;)

5. Opium

Fancy asian vibes

I went to this place with a friend on a Tuesday night and we had two cocktails for 10€ and they were perfect! Blueberries and gin flavors perfectly mixed. I don't know for the rest of the week's prices but it was a very good deal on that night and the cocktails were truly good. We even tried their gyoza and oh my... they were delicious. Place is a bit expensive for the food though.

Prices: fancy place = fancy prices but Tuesday night was a good deal!!

Food? Yes, pricy but definitely very good.

I don't pretend I tried them all and I still have many mores to discover. The next on my list is Vintage Cocktail Club which is meant to be quite an experience it's an hidden place with prohibition vibes. Can't wait to try.

You've tried other ones, you have questions or comment or just want to express yourself, please do in the comments :D

Thanks for reading,

See you soon guys and don't forget to follow me on Instagram if you don't so you can see more of my daily discoveries of the city and other destinations ;)


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page