top of page

Life in Dublin

Oh Dublin, you're more than a fair city.

Dublin is a dynamic, busy and fun city to leave in. It's what I call "Human size", here you can walk everywhere and it's what make that city so great. You can explore it, feel it, vibrate with it just by getting out for a walk.





You probably know by my welcome page that I am French. And if you know just a little French people, you know we live for food. So when I tell you can eat crazy good food in Dublin, you can believe me. If you are curious and if you dare push the doors of different places you can taste wonderful dishes. I'm not going to lie not everywhere is good and you can have terrible food in a lot of places, but hey like every other city in the world.

Other than food, you have high quality events every day in Dublin. My favourite site to be sure not to miss one: http://www.dublineventguide.com/ The most of this site is that it gives you all the free events in the city! Yes, in Dublin you can have fun every day for free. You have also a lot of events that you can pay for. Ireland is a country of music and they have great shows and beautiful halls where you can enjoy a concert or a show, you have also great festivals during Summer (Longitude, Electric Picnic...) and plenty other things if you dig a little.

If you want to experience the Irish spirit, Temple Bar is a must do. I know many Dubliners would disagree with me as the place is indeed full of over priced pub that attract mainly tourists. But, I do believe that you can have great nights there and enjoy the Irish music, spirit and fun. Go to the Quays, they have amazing musicians and if you don't want to get robbed just walk in the streets of the famous quarter to listen to the music coming from the pubs and observing crazy partiers having fun.

You love nature? Dublin has plenty to offer between Phoenix park, Stephen's Green, Iveagh Garden or the sea. I'll have an article soon about where you can go.

What about rent and everyday costs? Dublin is an expensive city! The rents are crazy high and it's a real nightmare to find a place to stay long-term. From my experience I think luck is a big part of the search. You can find all about our experience on renting here. For food shopping it's as in every other city, if you want quality food you'll pay a lot, if you don't care well you'll pay too much for what you get ;) but it's approximatively the same prices than in France for example. (Sorry I do with what I know ;) )

Girl talk here: If you love shopping as I do, you'll love Dublin! You can find amazing clothes around here for cheap! Between cheap stores like Penneys and regular sales and private sales, you'll be a happy woman/man in Dublin. My favourite spots to shop: T K Maxx, the H&M on Dame Street and Penney's!

There are a lot other things to say about life in Dublin, but let's stop here for today. I'll make you discover more in other articles!

Thanks for reading guys ;)

Cheers,

Ophélie.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page